Ronaldo’s Record-Breaking Transfer | Ronaldo Ballon d’Or total

Ronaldos Record

Ronaldos RecordBreaking Transfer from Manchester United to Real Madrid In the summer of 2009, Cristiano Ronaldo made history with his recordbreaking transfer from Manchester United to Real Madrid. The move made Ronaldo the worlds most expensive player at the time, costing Madrid a whopping £80 million. The transfer broke records in a number of ways. It was the highest fee ever paid for a football player, surpassing the previous record set by Zinedine Zidane when he moved from Juventus to Real Madrid for £46 million. It was also the largest sum ever paid by a Spanish club for a player, and the highest transfer fee ever paid by a club outside of England.

The move was viewed as a statement of intent from Real Madrid, who were determined to make the Spanish giants a superpower in European football again. The transfer did indeed pay off, with Ronaldo helping Los Blancos to a recordbreaking haul of trophies over the next decade, including four Champions League titles. Ronaldo himself also enjoyed personal success during his nineyear spell in Madrid. He scored a staggering 451 goals in 438 appearances and won numerous individual awards, including four Ballon d’Or. The recordbreaking transfer of Ronaldo to Madrid in 2009 changed the face of football forever and continues to have an impact to this day.

Ronaldo’s Five Ballon d’Or Awards and Other Accolades

Ronaldo Ballon d’or total

Playe Year
Ronaldo Ballon d’Or 2008
Ronaldo Ballon d’Or 2013
Ronaldo Ballon d’Or 2014
Ronaldo Ballon d’Or 2016
Ronaldo Ballon d’Or 2017

Other Accolades

UEFA Best Player in Europe Award 2014, 2016, 2017
UEFA Club Footballer of the Year 2007–08
UEFA Champions League Top Scorer 2007–08, 2012–13, 2013–14, and 2014–15
FIFA Club World Cup Silver Ball 2016
FIFA Club World Cup Top Scorer 2016
FIFA World Cup Silver Ball 2018
UEFA European Championship Silver Boot 2016
UEFA European Championship Team of the Tournament 2008, 2012, 2016
FIFA FIFPro World XI 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018
FIFA World Cup Dream Team 2018
Premier League Golden Boot 2007–08, 2010–11
FA Cup Winner 2004
Premier League Player of the Season 2006–07, 2007–08
UEFA Nations League Golden Boot 2018–19
FIFA World Player of the Year 2008


Leave a Comment